Customer teams determined to clinch third victory for Audi in Australia

The livery of the Phoenix Audi takes its cue from the local Bathurst Wiradyuri Aboriginal Community, who contributed to the design. The goanna and the platypus are native animals to Australia, and feature prominently in the design. The goanna is the Wiradyuri people’s totem, while the platypus is the most important dreaming story in the area. It is the first time a race car with an Australian Indigenous livery has ever competed in a motorsport event.

Laurens Vanthoor (B) and Markus Winkelhock (D) – last year’s runners-up with a gap of just two seconds – are sharing the race car of the German team with local hero Alex Davison.

Among others, their challengers within the Audi brand lineup include Jamec Pem Racing, who won the Australian GT Championship last year. The squad is contesting the race with two new R8 LMS cars. In the cockpits: two-time Bathurst winner Christopher Mies, his German compatriot Christopher Haase and last year’s runner-up Marco Mapelli (I), plus Australians Steven McLaughlan and Garth Tander, who will be sharing driving duties with René Rast (D). The local Supabarn Supermarkets and Arris/GT Motorsport teams are relying on the new generation of the R8 LMS as well. Two of the proven previous models of the race car are completing the lineup of the brand with the four rings – Teams Hallmarc/Network Clothing and International Motorsport are contesting the event with the R8 LMS ultra.

Following the practice sessions on Friday, February 5 and qualifying on Saturday, February 6, the race will be held on Sunday, February 7, from 5:45 a.m. to 5:45 p.m. local time (7:45 p.m. to 7:45 a.m. CET). While Australian television channel Seven Network will be airing full-length coverage of the race, interested viewers around the globe can watch live streaming of the action on the internet:

Audi teams at Bathurst

#2 Audi R8 LMS (Phoenix Racing)

Alex Davison/Laurens Vanthoor/Markus Winkelhock (AUS/B/D)

#3 Audi R8 LMS (Supabarn Supermarkets)

Shae Davies/James Koundouris/Theo Koundouris/Marcus Marshall (AUS/AUS/AUS/AUS)

#5 Audi R8 LMS (Arris/GT Motorsport/Pete & Co)

Nathan Antunes/Barton Mawer/Greg Taylor (AUS/AUS/AUS)

#9 Audi R8 LMS ultra (Hallmarc/Network Clothing)

Marc Cini/Mark Eddy/Christer Jöns (AUS/AUS/D)

#74 Audi R8 LMS (Jamec Pem Racing)

Christopher Haase/Marco Mapelli/Christopher Mies (D/I/D)

#75 Audi R8 LMS (Jamec Pem Racing)

Steven McLaughlan/René Rast/Garth Tander (AUS/D/AUS)

#82 Audi R8 LMS ultra (International Motorsport)

Rick Armstrong/Andrew Bagnall/Matt Halliday (NZ/NZ/NZ)