Four victories for the Audi RS 3 LMS

Audi R8 LMS GT3

Two more podium places in Germany: A catch-up race secured last year’s champions and Audi Sport drivers Kelvin van der Linde/Patric Niederhauser the first podium result of the season in the ADAC GT Masters on the second weekend. The Swiss Niederhauser started the race at the Nürburgring and handed over the cockpit of his Audi R8 LMS in the middle of the race when he was eighth. Then van der Linde started to catch up and only fought his way to the podium in third place on the final lap. For the second race, the South African secured first place on the grid and thus the Pirelli Pole Position Award, which was presented for the first time. Despite the fastest race lap, van der Linde/Niederhauser had to settle for tenth place due to a drive-through penalty. Dries Vanthoor, however, was another Audi Sport driver on the podium. The Belgian had started from second place with his compatriot Charles Weerts and finished second. Weerts thus also won the Pirelli Junior classification. The victories in the Pirelli Trophy classification, in which professionals are excluded, went to Audi privateers in both rounds, too. Filip Salaquarda from Team ISR won the prize on Saturday, WRT driver Rolf Ineichen on Sunday. Best in points in this classification is Elia Erhart from Team EFP Car Collection by Tece who is another private Audi driver. A total of 15 Audi R8 LMS cars from eight teams competed in the Eifel – more GT3 sports cars with the four rings on the bonnet than ever before in this racing series.

Coming up next week

20–23/08 Le Castellet (F), rounds 3 and 4, GT Cup Open Europe 

21–23/08 Lausitzring (D), rounds 1 and 2, GTC Race

21–23/08 Le Castellet (F), rounds 1 and 2, TCR Europe

21–23/08 Nogaro (F), rounds 1 and 2, GT4 France

21–23/08 Lausitzring (D), rounds 3 and 4, DTM Trophy

21–23/08 Virginia (USA), round 4, IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge

21–23/08 Virginia (USA), round 5, IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship

22–23/08 Slovakiaring (SK), rounds 3 and 4, TCR Eastern Europe

22–23/08 Slovakiaring (SK), rounds 3 and 4, Eset V4 Cup

22–23/08 Slovakiaring (SK), rounds 5 and 6, FIA CEZ

22–23/08 Moscow Raceway (RU), rounds 7 and 8, TCR Russia

22–23/08 Suzuka (J), round 3, Super GT