Runner-up title and victory in the finale for Audi in Formula E

The first season with the new Gen2 racing cars was packed with suspense, drama and variety. From the thirteen races contested on five continents, there were nine different winners from eight teams. Ten different drivers started from pole position. In the lead-up to the final event in New York, four drivers and three teams were within striking distance of claiming the titles. 

Notching up five wins, the Audi e-tron FE05 is the most successful Formula E racing car of the season. Ten podiums, one pole position and eight additional points for the fastest race lap were achieved by the e-tron FE05, with its efficient drivetrain as its greatest strength.

As in last year’s final sprint, the Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler team very nearly succeeded in claiming the team’s title at the final race weekend. Daniel Abt and Lucas di Grassi made up twenty-four points to DS Techeetah at the two races in New York. Ultimately, only nineteen points were missing for a successful title defense. 

“The entire team fought to the end and gave their utmost,” said team principal Allan McNish. “It was incredibly close. Like last year, we took a lot of points away from DS Techeetah at the finale, but this time it wasn’t enough to win the teams’ title. Still, I’m proud of the team. They put so much hard work, energy and determination into this season. We’ll carry this determination into the sixth season. We’re already looking forward to the first race in November.”

Head of Audi Motorsport Dieter Gass: “It was a thrilling season full of highs and lows for everyone. We fought for both championships right up to the finish line of the very last race. For the factory team, the final race didn’t quite go as we’d hoped, but our customer team Envision Virgin Racing managed to win the race. This gives them third place in the teams’ championship. That’s a very good result for Audi.”

Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler has finished every season in the top three of the overall standings. The same applies for Lucas di Grassi, who has secured third place for the second time in the drivers’ classification of the electric racing series after claiming the title in the 2016/2017 season and two runner-up results.